Nancy van de Ven wins her first ever WMX Grand Prix in the Czech Republic

It was a day of peaks and pits at the sixth and final round of the 2015 FIM Women’s Motocross World Championship. Making up the ‘peaks’ was the performance of Yamaha rider Nancy Van de Ven who won both motos and took her first ever Grand Prix win in the Czech Republic.

The stand out performer this weekend was Holland’s young WMX prodigy Nancy Van de Ven who took her first race victory on Saturday and then put in another epic performance on Sunday for the win and her first ever WMX overall.

At the end of the weekend, the top five overall replicated the results of race two. Nancy Van de Ven topped the box in convincing fashion with a double race victory while Kiara Fontanesi stood on the second step and Amandine Verstappen rounded out the top three.

Comment Nancy van de Ven:’’I can’t believe that I have won both motos here in Loket. My target for this year was to try to score one podium place and now I have three podiums this year with a win. It feels amazing and I am really happy about my season’’.

After six rounds Nancy finished in third position in the championship. In two weeks time she will participate in round four of the Dutch MX2 Series in Markelo.
1st moto results: 1. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), 24:37.678; 2. Livia Lancelot (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:02.838; 3. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, Yamaha), +0:22.746; 4. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), +0:54.174; 5. Justine Charroux (FRA, Yamaha), +1:15.897; 6. Britt Van Der Werff (NED, Suzuki), +1:18.672; 7. Genette Vaage (NOR, KTM), +1:33.061; 8. Joana Goncalves (POR, Yamaha), +1:35.921; 9. Julie Dalgaard (DEN, Honda), +1:36.285; 10. Kimberley Braam (NED, Kawasaki), +1:38.679.

2nd moto results: 1. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), 25:13.129; 2. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, Yamaha), +0:14.787; 3. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), +0:18.139; 4. Justine Charroux (FRA, Yamaha), +0:32.198; 5. Julie Dalgaard (DEN, Honda), +0:34.395; 6. Emelie Dahl (SWE, Yamaha), +0:37.942; 7. Francesca Nocera (ITA, Suzuki), +0:39.133; 8. Genette Vaage (NOR, KTM), +0:57.943; 9. Shana van der Vlist (NED, Yamaha), +0:59.600; 10. Joana Goncalves (POR, Yamaha), +1:15.094.

WMX Overall: 1. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, YAM), 50 points; 2. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, YAM), 42 p.; 3. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), 38 p.; 4. Justine Charroux (FRA, YAM), 34 p.; 5. Julie Dalgaard (DEN, HON), 28 p.; 6. Genette Vaage (NOR, KTM), 27 p.; 7. Joana Goncalves (POR, YAM), 24 p.; 8. Emelie Dahl (SWE, YAM), 22 p.; 9. Livia Lancelot (FRA, KAW), 22 p.; 10. Shana van der Vlist (NED, YAM), 20 p.

WMX Final Championship Standings: 1. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, YAM), 260 points; 2. Livia Lancelot (FRA, KAW), 242 p.; 3. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, YAM), 229 p.; 4. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), 176 p.; 5. Genette Vaage (NOR, KTM), 150 p.; 6. Justine Charroux (FRA, YAM), 147 p.; 7. Francesca Nocera (ITA, SUZ), 127 p.; 8. Virginie Germond (SUI, SUZ), 104 p.; 9. Madison Brown (AUS, YAM), 99 p.; 10. Marianne Veenstra (NED, HUS), 92 p.
Photocredits: Eric Laurijssen

Start typing and press Enter to search